en
NL FR EN

Genever

The ancestor of gin

It is simply not possible to separate gin from the ancient tradition of genever in the Low Countries. More than that, gin is actually a direct descendant of genever. During the 17th century, English soldiers were in our part of Europe fighting the Eighty Years’ War against Spain. It was then that they sampled genever for the first time, taking this exceptional spirit back to London with them, where they tried to replicate it. Unsuccessfully, as it turns out, because they didn’t have the right recipe. They then named their derivative recipe ‘gin’.

 

The missing link

Genever is often named the missing link between gin and whisky. Similar to whisky, genever is distilled from grain which provides the spirit with a mature and round taste. But just like with gin a dash of juniper berry distillate is added to give the pallet some fresher and spicy notes. Finally but not necessarily, genever can be aged in oak barrels to give it that smooth and silky flavor that is so characteristic for the best Single Malt whiskies.

0 years old

Refreshing and balanced taste of juniper berries with subtle notes of grain distillate. 

8 years old

Warm and peppery with a scent of vanilla and hints of nutmeg and bitter caramel.

12 years old

Softly spicy with a scent of waffles & vanilla and hints of cinnamon & speculoos.

17 years old

A scent of caramel & oak, followed by sweet, creamy highlights and a hint of pepper.

21 years old

Dark chocolate & walnuts scent, with a spicey balanced taste and hints of caramel & ripe orange.

Distillery

On the banks of the Leie River in picturesque Bachte-Maria-Leerne in Belgium, Filliers Distillery has been creating genever since 1880. The artisanal distillery process at Filliers makes use of traditional copper alembic stills (pot stills), and is a delicate balancing act that relies on the craftsmanship and many years of experience of five generations of Master Distillers.

In the course of many years, Karel Lodewijk (founder and first generation) refined his genever recipe until, ultimately, an artisanal Grain Genever of the very highest quality trickled from his stills. Up to this very day, Filliers Distillery distils its spirits in the exact same manner it always has, with the entire process from grain processing to bottling taking place in-house. Filliers distils and “cuts” according to carefully guarded family secrets, passed directly from Karel Lodewijk Filliers to the next four generations of Master Distillers.

However, the next generations have not been resting on their laurels.  Firmin Filliers (3rd generation) developed a gin with Belgian hops in 1928, which has recently been reintroduced to the market as Filliers Dry Gin 28. The development of this gin was an obvious choice, as gin is a direct descendant of genever. Additional product innovations followed, with respect for the craft always being the primary concern.

history

1792 1836

The birth of a legend

Karel Lodewijk Filliers was born in Bachte-Maria-Leerne. He was the man who came up with the idea of introducing genever distillation to the family’s farming activities.In the course of many years, Karel Lodewijk  refined his recipe until, ultimately, an artisanal Grain Genever of the very highest quality trickled from his stills.

Kamiel Filliers

Kamiel Filliers was born in 1836. He was the first member of the second generation of Filliers Master Distillers. He went on to succeed founder Karel Lodewijk as head of the family company and was responsible for expanding the genever distilling activities.

The company was born

In 1880, Kamiel Filliers installed a steam engine at his agricultural distillery which accelerated the distillation process considerably, and turned it into the kind of company Filliers Distillery is today.

Firmin Filliers

Firmin Filliers (3rd generation) was born, who went on to take the helm of the family company. It was Firmin Filliers who, shortly after the end of WWI in 1928, created the recipe for the current premium Filliers Dry Gin 28.

Filliers Distillery makes gin

Filliers Dry Gin 28 was created by Firmin Filliers.

The 4th generation

Brothers Louis and Carlos Filliers (4th generation of Filliers) took over the reins of Filliers Distillery. This was a heavy responsibility to take on in the wake of WWII. But this 4th generation laid the foundation for the current Filliers family company and was responsible for uninterrupted growth over a great many years.

5th generation of Filliers

Nephews Bernard and Jan Filliers (5th generation) joined the increasingly large Filliers family company. Together they successfully enhanced the professional profile of Filliers Distillery even further. Bernard Filliers continues to stand at the helm of the distillery today.

Filliers Dry Gin 28 was relaunched

Filliers Dry Gin 28 was reintroduced to the market after the current Master Distiller worked on the original recipe for more than two years. 

Genever Revival

Filliers Distillery launches a new range of Premium Genevers to reinvigorate the genever category.

Where to buy?

Complete the following field to request the nearest point of sale.

Info & contact

Complete the following form
& we will contact you shortly.

Visit Filliers Distillery
LEERNSESTEENWEG 5 / 9800 DEINZE, BELGIUM
T 0032 9 386 12 64 / F 0032 9 386 99 46

fr
NL FR EN

Genièvre

L’ancête du gin


Il est tout simplement impossible de dissocier le gin de la tradition ancienne du genièvre dans les Pays Bas. Plus que cela, le gin est en réalité un descendant direct du genièvre. Au XVIIème siècle, des soldats anglais livraient bataille contre l’Espagne dans notre partie de l’Europe pendant la guerre des Quatre-vingts Ans. C’est à cette époque qu’ils ont goûté au genièvre pour la première fois et qu’ils ont rapporté avec eux cet alcool exceptionnel à Londres, où ils ont essayé de le reproduire. Sans succès, car ils n’avaient pas la bonne recette. Ils ont donc nommé ce produit dérivé « gin ».

 

Le chaînon manquant

Le genièvre est souvent considéré comme le chaînon manquant entre le gin et le whisky. Comme le whisky, le genièvre est distillé à partir de céréales qui confèrent à l’alcool un goût mûr et rond. Mais comme pour le gin, un soupçon de distillat de baie de genévrier est ajouté pour offrir au palais des notes plus fraîches et épicées. Enfin, mais pas nécessairement, le genièvre peut être vieilli dans des fûts de chêne pour lui donner cette saveur douce et soyeuse si caractéristique des meilleurs whiskies single malt.

0 ans d’âge

Goût rafraîchissant et équilibré des baies de genévrier associé aux notes subtiles du distillat de céréales.

8 ans d’âge

Chaud et poivré avec un arôme de vanille et des notes de muscade et de caramel amer.

12 ans d’âge

Délicatement épicé avec un arôme de gaufres et de vanille et des notes de cannelle et de spéculos.

17 ans d’âge

Un arôme de caramel et de chêne suivi de notes douces et crémeuses et d’une touche de poivre.

21 ans d’âge

Une saveur de chocolat noir et de noix associée à un goût épicé équilibré et des notes de caramel et d’orange mûre.

Distillerie

Sur les rives de la rivière Lys, dans la pittoresque localité belge de Bachte-Maria-Leerne, la distillerie Filliers fabrique du genièvre depuis 1880. Le processus de distillerie artisanal de Filliers utilise des alambics en cuivre traditionnels (alambics à repasse) et représente un équilibre subtil qui s’appuie sur le savoir-faire et la longue expérience de cinq générations de Maîtres distillateurs.

Pendant de nombreuses années, Karel Lodewijk (fondateur et première génération) a affiné sa recette jusqu’à obtenir un genièvre artisanal de la plus haute qualité, issu du goutte à goutte de ses alambics. Encore aujourd’hui, la distillerie Filliers distille ses alcools exactement de la même manière qu’à ses débuts : l’intégralité du processus a lieu sur place, du traitement des céréales à la mise en bouteille. Filliers distille et « coupe » dans le respect des secrets de famille soigneusement gardés, transmis directement par Karel Lodewijk Filliers aux quatre générations suivantes de Maîtres distillateurs.

Toutefois, les générations suivantes ne se sont pas reposées sur leurs lauriers. En 1928, Firmin Filliers (3ème génération) a élaboré un gin à base de houblon belge qui a récemment été réintroduit sur le marché sous l’appellation Filliers Dry Gin 28. Le développement de ce gin allait de soi car cet alcool est un descendant direct du genièvre. D’autres innovations en matière de produits ont suivi, le respect du savoir-faire artisanal demeurant toujours la priorité absolue.

histoire

1792 1836

La naissance d'une légende

Karel Lodewijk Filliers est né à Bachte-Maria-Leerne. C’est lui qui a eu l’idée d’introduire la distillation du genièvre dans les activités agricoles de la famille. Pendant de nombreuses années, Karel Lodewijk a affiné sa recette jusqu’à obtenir un genièvre artisanal de la plus haute qualité, issu du goutte à goutte de ses alambics.

Kamiel Filliers

Kamiel Filliers est né en 1836. C’est le premier membre de la deuxième génération des Maîtres distillateurs Filliers. Il a succédé au fondateur Karel Lodewijk en tant que directeur de la société familiale et était chargé d’étendre les activités de distillation du genièvre.

L'entreprise était née

En 1880, Kamiel Filliers installait un moteur à vapeur dans sa distillerie agricole, ce qui a considérablement accéléré le processus de distillation et a transformé la distillerie Filliers en l’entreprise qu’elle est aujourd’hui.

Firmin Filliers

Firmin Filliers (3ème génération) a ensuite pris la barre de l’entreprise familiale. C’est lui qui, peut après la fin de la Première guerre mondiale en 1928, a créé la recette de l’actuel Filliers Dry Gin 28 premium.

La distillerie Filliers fabrique du gin

Filliers Dry Gin 28 a été élaboré par Firmin Filliers.

La 4ème génération

Les frères Louis et Carlos Filliers (4ème génération de Filliers) ont repris les rênes de la distillerie Filliers. Au lendemain de la Seconde guerre mondiale, il s’agissait d’une lourde responsabilité. Mais cette 4ème génération a posé les bases de l’actuelle entreprise familiale Filliers et a contribué à sa croissance continue pendant de nombreuses années.

La 5ème génération de Filliers

Les neveux Bernard et Jan Filliers (5ème génération) ont rejoint l’entreprise familiale Filliers en plein essor. Ensemble, ils sont parvenus à accroître encore davantage le profil professionnel de la distillerie Filliers. Bernard Filliers continue sur cette lancée à la tête de la distillerie aujourd’hui.

Relanchement de Filliers Dry Gin 28

Filliers Dry Gin 28 a été réintroduit sur le marché après plus de deux ans de travail sur la recette d’origine par l’actuel Maître distillateur. 

Le renouveau du genièvre

La distillerie Filliers lance une nouvelle gamme de genièvres premiums pour redynamiser ce segment.

Points de vente

Remplissez le champ ci-dessous pour trouver le point de vente le plus proche.

Info & contact

Remplissez le formulaire ci-dessous &
nous vous contacterons dès que possible.

Visit Filliers Distillery
LEERNSESTEENWEG 5 / 9800 DEINZE, BELGIUM
T 0032 9 386 12 64 / F 0032 9 386 99 46